Strange problem in PB/CC 4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strange problem in PB/CC 4

A PB/CC (4.04.0042) program I've been using for many years has developed some weird problem I have so far not been able to debug.

First a code snippet:
    Code:
    PercHA! = VAL(DField$(j)) / 100!

The origin of the contents of DField$() are from a text input file. I read the input file one line at a time, then parse the columns into individual elements of DField$() before using them to set the values of several dozen variables including this one. In this case DField$(j) will have a value of something like "1.000000E-002" before being converted to a number and stored in a floating point variable.

This has worked fine for many hundreds of thousands of lines of input over several years.

Recently I found a situation where PercHA! is assigned a value of zero, even though DField$(j) has an appropriate value (such as "1.000000E-002").

For those rare times when PercHA! is assigned a value of zero, the following code will not detect the zero value:
    Code:
    IF (PercHA! = 0.0) THEN
        PRINT "PercHA! is zero"; PercHA!
    ELSE
        PRINT "PercHA! is not zero"; PercHA!
    END IF
    When executed it will report:

PercHA! is not zero 0