Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using API functions in PB/CC

Dear PB Forum people

Please can someone point me in the right direction for applying some API functions in PB/CC?

I'm not by profession a programmer, but as a scientist I use programming as a tool for mathematical and statistical modelling (among other things). I find PB/CC really excellent for this purpose (in the past I used TurboBasic and then Turbo Pascal). I have no ambitions to be a Windows programmer, or at least that's not a mountain I wish to climb at present, but in some circumstances I like to make my life easier by using certain Windows functions. For example, by looking at examples posted in these forums, I have learned how to use OpenFileDialog and SaveFileDialog from ComDlg32.inc for easy access to files in different folders.

However... there are a couple of things I'd like to do that I can't work out yet.

Firstly, if I'm going to open a file for output and I find out that the file already exists, I have three options: overwrite, append or abort and choose a new file name. Of course it's very easy to do this in the console, but having got the file name using SaveFileDialog, I'd like a nice user-friendly message or dialog to pop up and offer the options on the click of a mouse. I've worked out how to get a message box with buttons for "yes", "no" and "cancel"...
    Code:
    x=MessageBox(0,"File already exists!","Warning:",%MB_YESNOCANCEL)
    ...and I can respond to the value of x returned, but how would I get a box with buttons labelled "Overwrite", "Append" and "Abort"? Or is this something best left to 'real' programmers...?