QB4.5 Vs PB3.5

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• QB4.5 Vs PB3.5

On my 166Mhz running under windows 95 and launching from file manager, the following runs in 21+ seconds using QB4.5 and 63+ seconds using PB3.5.
    The code was compiled using $CPU 80386 and $OPTIMIZE SPEED

DEFINT A - Z
    $STATIC

DIM Arr(59, 255)

PRINT TIMER

FOR I = 0 TO 59
    FOR J = 0 TO 255
    Arr(I, J) = I + J
    FOR K = O TO 255
    SWAP Arr(I, J), Arr(I, 255 - J)
    FOR L = 0 TO 255
    NEXT L
    NEXT K
    NEXT J
    NEXT I

PRINT TIMER

Baring the use of ASM (which I can't see how it would speed it up any) is there a way to optimize the code to run faster than the QB4.5 code?

------------------

[This message has been edited by Walt Decker (edited August 16, 2001).]
    Walt Decker

Greetings Walt!

I'm not a brilliant programmer and I don't know of a better way to handle what you've done; but, I tested it on my 600Mhz--Win98 machine.

PowerBasic for DOS 3.5
    Code:
    $CPU 80386
    $OPTIMIZE SPEED

DEFINT A - Z
    $STATIC

DIM Arr(59, 255)

Start&= TIMER

FOR I = 0 TO 59
       FOR J = 0 TO 255
         Arr(I, J) = I + J
            FOR K = O TO 255
                  FOR L = 0 TO 255
                  NEXT L
            NEXT K
       NEXT J
    NEXT I

Ed&=TIMER

print Ed&-Start&
    QuickBasic PDS 7.1
    Code:
    DEFINT A-Z

DIM Arr(59, 255)

Start& = TIMER

FOR I = 0 TO 59
       FOR J = 0 TO 255
         Arr(I, J) = I + J
            FOR K = O TO 255
                  FOR L = 0 TO 255
                  NEXT L
            NEXT K
       NEXT J
    NEXT I

Ed& = TIMER

PRINT Ed& - Start&
    ...I averaged 13 seconds with PB and 45 seconds with QBX.

Kurt Reonis
    [email protected]
    Donnie Ewald
    [email protected]

Comment

It's possible to make virtually any code faster by the judicious use of ASM but,
      when the code does nothing meaningful, one must question the value of optimizing
      it.