Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 16 Bit CRC

i need a routine to calculate a 16 bit crc. i found the one at
    , but i don't know what to do with it. does it need to be assembled and then $link'd? i have nasm but it gives me an unknown error and i'm not experienced at all in intel assembly. could you please tell me how to use this file. thanks,

It was specifically written for Turbo Assembler. If you'll email me at [email protected], I'll email you the .OBJ and a sample file.

--Dave

-------------
    PowerBASIC Support
    mailto:[email protected][email protected]</A>

Home of the BASIC Gurus
    www.basicguru.com

Comment

it you can use a 32-bit crc instead, try the code at

if you must use 16-bit, get the code offered by dave, or try this alternative from my own collection:
      <font face="courier new, courier" size="3"><pre>
      ' filecrc16.bas - include functon for checking open file's crc 16 value
      ' first open the file for binary, and then call filecrc16 with file number
      ' as the passed 'variable'.
      ' (general usage)

function filecrc16%(byval infile%) local public
      local inbuffsize%, inbuff$, buffseg&, buffadr&, bytesleft&, filedone%, saver%

inbuffsize% = fre(t$)
      inbuff$ = string$(inbuffsize%, 0)
      buffseg& = strseg(inbuff$)
      buffadr& = strptr(inbuff$)
      bytesleft& = lof(infile%)
      if bytesleft& = 0 then function = 0 : exit function
      seek infile%, 0
      gosub loadinbuff

do
      gosub crcstring
      gosub loadinbuff
      loop until istrue(filedone%)

function = saver%
      exit function

loadinbuff:

if istrue(bytesleft&) then
      if bytesleft& < inbuffsize% then
      inbuffsize% = bytesleft&
      inbuff$ = string$(inbuffsize%, 0)
      buffseg& = strseg(inbuff$)
      buffadr& = strptr(inbuff$)
      end if
      get infile%,,inbuff$
      decr bytesleft&, inbuffsize%
      else
      filedone% = -1
      end if
      return

crcstring:
      ! pushf
      ! push ds