NETWORK DataBases ACCESS 100 TIMES SLOWER WITH WINDOWS XP workstations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NETWORK DataBases ACCESS 100 TIMES SLOWER WITH WINDOWS XP workstations

HELP ! : DOS database softwares are 100 times slower with Windows XP on Pentium 4 machines in networks !

What a paradox to explain to our clients ! THEY DON’T UNDERSTAND NEITHER ME !

I am a French Engineer who developped specific professionnal softwares with B-Tree databases which run perfectly on small networks with a server (under Windows NT 4 Server) and 3-12 workstations under Windows 98, NT or XP. They don’t want to pay again for re-developped applications with « New » Windows 32 bits power tools ! ! like Windev
    All programs are developped with Microsoft PDS (Basic compiler 7.0) and Powerbasic modules
    My clients were very impressed by so fast access to databases and are quite satisfied with DELL DIMENSION 4100 machines 3 years old machines with only 64 Mo RAM and Pentium III 500 Mhz

Since they have to order new machines DELL DIMENSION 4500 or 8200 (Pentium 4 processor > 2 GHz, 256 Mo RAM or more) with Windows XP PRO, I thought that performances would be better ! But the result is 100 times slower ! ! ! especially on networks :

 Of course, I verified all network cards drivers installed by DELL (3Com or PCI RealTek RTL8139 Family 10/100 Mhz
     I made all Windows XP updates...
     I made all optimize tips known on Windows XP (See http://www.hotline-pc.org/whistlerastucesxp.htm)
     I spent hours with DELL Hot-Liners which can’t do anything (telling : it’a problem from Microsoft...Contact them, but DELL install OEM Microsoft Windows, so nobody want to help you !

Though I know that Pentium IV is a 64 bits processor and the « old » compiler BC is not optimized for it, I wonder about such bad performances with XP !