Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VB and PowerBasic DLLs

Greetings,

I'm new to PB and I'm having terrible trouble with GPFs in my DLL's when I call them from VB6.

For example, I have a DLL written in PB called ENCRYPT defined in PB as follows:

FUNCTION ENCRYPT (BYVAL str_type AS STRING, BYVAL str_input AS STRING, BYVAL str_key AS STRING) EXPORT AS STRING

In VB6 this is declared as:

Declare Function ENCRYPT Lib "SVE.DLL" (ByVal str_type As String, ByVal str_input As String, ByVal str_key As String) As String

The problem I have is that when I call the function from VB is works sometime, GPS's sometime and gives the wrong result other times. It also seem to change the value of the paramaters to incomprehensible values.

The function works fine when I call it from a PowerBasic EXE.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

-------------
    Mark Jarzebowski
    Melbourne, Australia
    [email protected]

Hi Mark,
    This is from the PBDLL 6.0 helpfile (Appendix B):

Many API calls require ASCIIZ, or nul-terminated strings. Visual Basic does not natively support this data-type, so it relies on a “kludge” to pass the correct data. To pass an ASCIIZ string, you add the ByVal keyword to the Declare statement or Call,

Call PowerBasicDll(ByVal MyString$)

Visual Basic converts the data in MyString$ to ANSI format with a nul (or CHR$(0)) appended to the end of it, and passes a memory address to the location of the string data. PowerBASIC does natively support ASCIIZ string, so the ByVal keyword is not used:

SUB PowerBasicDll(MyString AS ASCIIZ) EXPORT

REPLACE "the" WITH "The" in MyString

END SUB

If the called API or DLL modifies the data, it can not extend the length past that of the data it received, or a GPF may occur. If the modified data is shorter than the original string passed, the Visual Basic code must “fix” the string’s length by extracting all characters up to the CHR$(0) embedded in the string data.