Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I wish to be Educated on Win Resource Files

Hello,

I am interested in finding and learning about the utilization of Windows Software resources as in a “Resource File”. It appears, to my yet untrained view of Windows software (I have been an Embedded Systems Designer and developer for my 25 plus years as an engineer) that resources that are compiled with programs into ‘exe’ files allow for greater control and versatility of the Windows interface. I have been looking online at the PowerBasic forums and have been unable to find any details as to the structure and makeup of these resources (the nuts & bolts – Sorry, I am a cross experienced hardware guy - details). I have spent some money purchasing Visual Basic 6 and Visual C++ books, as I have come across references to these in the PB Forums, attempting to find out more about resources and have accomplished nothing towards increasing my understanding of the details and the nuts & bolts of how it all works (especially as it would apply in the PowerBasic Programming Environment because I also purchased the big green PowerBasic manual). I am attempting to write an application that will be used to analyze data obtained from testing an advanced control system similar to how a hardware logic analyzer and a multi-channel digital storage oscilloscope would be used for hardware testing in PowerBasic. Could you please help me become familiar with and confident in working with Windows PB written apps and guide me in where to look?

Thank You,
    John A Dillon

Basically, a program resource is a way of including "non-code data" in your executable (EXE or DLL) file so you don't have to supply separate data files with the application.

Examples are bitmaps, icons, text files... the kinds of things which are needed for your application to run, but do not change. (Resources are not suitable for volatile data).