Processing Array Elements in Threads?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Processing Array Elements in Threads?

I need to create an array of strings, then have background threads process the individual elements (one thread for each string element). I wrote this sample program which seems to work, but when I try the same technique in my main program it crashes. So I don't know if I have a different error in my main program, or if I'm passing the array element to the threads incorrectly. I'm new to thread processing so any tips would be appreciated.

Code:
    #COMPILE EXE
    DEFLNG a-z

FUNCTION PBMAIN () AS LONG
      DIM hnd(10) AS LONG
      DIM stuff(10) AS STRING

FOR a=1 TO 10
        stuff$(a)="This "+FORMAT$(a)
      NEXT a

FOR a=1 TO 10
        THREAD CREATE test(VARPTR(stuff$(a))) TO hnd(a)
      NEXT a

DO
        SLEEP 10
      LOOP UNTIL THREADCOUNT =1

FOR a=1 TO 10
        THREAD CLOSE hnd(a) TO hnd(a)
      NEXT a

r$=""
      FOR a=1 TO 10
        r$=r$+stuff$(a)+$CRLF
      NEXT a
      MSGBOX r$

END FUNCTION

THREAD FUNCTION test(BYVAL x AS STRING PTR)
      @x=@x+" and That"
    END FUNCTION
    Anthony Watson, Mountain Software
    www.mountainsoftware.com

1. What error code does main program report?

2. The THREAD FUNCTION in main progam - does it also concatinate strings? Or does it accidentally add a numeric to pointer x? ((doing @ at an invalid address?)) (((strings need to change location (often) when they get larger. A bigger change in main program (than in demo) may make @x=@x + (longer string) violate another string's space))) [[WAG cuz failing code not shown!]]

Cheers,
    Dale

Comment

Dale,

1. No error codes. The program just crashes and closes. I assume the way I am referencing the array element is changing the address of the string in the array. I'm not sure how to reference a single element in the array from a background thread.