Demo programs won't run;: receive linker error

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Demo programs won't run;: receive linker error

I am new to PB. I have tried to run a demo program ("character.pb") but I get two problem alerts as a result:

Error 1:

Cannot save source code!
    C:\Program Files\PureBasic\Examples\3D\Demos\character.pb

Error 2:

Linker error
    POLINK: fatal error: Access is denied.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

-- JB

Bad form to save your work to C:\Programs Files\...(anything) , or even changes to demo code that came with the installation.
    ??Perhaps Windows 7 or 10 enforces this more than previous versions??

Google on POLINK leads me to believe the demo is already running, so the .exe can't be written to by compiler. PowerBASIC will do the same thing, but I've never seen it called POLINK.

Which ties in with next thing. From path given with Error 1 description it looks like you're using PureBasic, not PowerBASIC (they are not the same thing), or are you trying to compile a PureBasic demo with PowerBASIC (but then you would probably get syntax errors before the errors you mentioned.)

If you are using PowerBASIC, and character.pb is fairly short, please post the source code. If you are using PureBasic, the question does not really belong on the PowerBASIC forum; but someone might jump in with a PureBasic answer.

Cheers,
    Dale

Comment

Originally posted by John Booth View Post
      I am new to PB. I have tried to run a demo program ("character.pb") but I get two problem alerts as a result:

Error 1:

Cannot save source code!

Wrong forum, I guess.

Comment