Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding a specific record in Random Access Files

Dear Members:
    I am a newbie and still trying to learn. The question I have is it says in the Help File that you can access any record in a Random Access File but doesn't tell me how to do it. In the olden days I used to write in dBASE IV and you could use a SEEK(variable) to find a specific variable in a field in the database. Can someone tell me how to find a specific variable without having to read each record in the file AND how to get the RECORD NUMBER of that record. I have searched the Support Community and can't find an answer. Also can Random Access Files be indexed and if so how. I read where members refer to indexing a sequential file but I DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO THAT EITHER. The file I will be creating will be rather small maybe less than 2000 records so which type should I use Sequential or Random. I was going to use Random because I will need to find a specific variable in a record. Now I can find this specific variable by reading each record in the file but how do you go directly to the record containing the variable in a RANDOM ACCESS FILE.

Thanks all help will be very much appreciated
    Leroy Hindman

This is one way.
    Another way is to read the entire file into an array then use the elements as records.
    Another way is PowerBASIC has a field statement with an example in the help file.
    Code:
    #DIM ALL

TYPE MyRecord
     lastname  AS STRING * 30
     firstname AS STRING * 30
    END TYPE

FUNCTION PBMAIN () AS LONG

LOCAL hFile  AS LONG
     LOCAL recnum AS LONG
     LOCAL rec    AS MyRecord

hFile = FREEFILE 'this was missing   1:39PM
     OPEN "test.tmp" FOR RANDOM AS #hFile LEN = LEN(MyRecord)
     IF ERR THEN ? ERROR$,%MB_SYSTEMMODAL,"OPEN":EXIT FUNCTION

recnum = 1
     rec.lastname = "Hindman
     rec.firstname= "Leroy
     PUT #hFile,recnum,rec
     IF ERR THEN ? ERROR$,%MB_SYSTEMMODAL,"PUT":CLOSE #hFile:EXIT FUNCTION