ICS File Format (Calendar)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ICS File Format (Calendar)

I'm playing around with creating ICS calendar files to allow a PowerBASIC app to send calendar events to someone, where they would import the received calendar events into their own calendar.

For testing of the calendar events, I'm using the online validation tool at https://icalendar.org/validator.html#results

I've read that many calendar apps support the ICS file format and was able to import this sample calendar event into MS Outlook.

Code:
    BEGIN:VCALENDAR
    VERSION: 2.0
    PRODID: gbCalendar
    BEGIN:VEVENT
    UID:100001
    DTSTAMP:20201112T100000
    DTSTART:20201112T100000
    DTEND:20201111T123000
    DESCRIPTION:One for the money \n
     Two for the show \n
     Three to make ready and \n
     Four to GO!
    SUMMARY:Annual checkup with Dr. Smith
    END:VEVENT
    END:VCALENDAR
    I just started playing with it last night and am still working through some online examples. The RFC 5545 specification covers the ICS file format.

From the spec, I missed the need to use "\n" at the end of lines and to have a blank space before follow-on text DESCRIPTION lines. I caught those requirements in a discussion I ran across.

Does anyone have any experience with using ICS files? Any tips to pass on?

The Microsoft Calendar API at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gra...ncept-overview might have some help for you.
    Michael Mattias
    Tal Systems (retired)
    Port Washington WI USA
    [email protected]
    http://www.talsystems.com

Comment

Originally posted by Gary Beene View Post
      ...I missed the need to use "\n" at the end of lines...
      Code:
      DESCRIPTION:One for the money \n
       Two for the show \n
       Three to make ready and \n
       Four to GO!
      Make sure you don't confuse new lines in a field with folding long lines.

Para 3.1: