New to Web Development

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Web Development

I have written a number of applicatons using PB/Win. There is on in particular that I would like to migrate over to a Web application. The application has a number of entry screens. I use ADO/ADOX to talk to MS SQL for storing the data. All reports are printed as pdf documents.

I have two sons that develope web application using php, c#, javascript, .... They keep telling me to move with the times. I am a old school programmer. What would be the best approach to moving this application over to a Web Application. What are my options with PB?

Andy,

There is no single answer except to say that you're not going to simply "port" a Win32 application to the web. You'll need to totally redesign the user interface which means learning how HTML works for starters.

The web is mostly one-way-communications. The server provides a form. The user fills out the form. The user sends the form data to the server. The server processes the data. The server sends a response back to the client. There are other ways to do it, but you have to learn to walk before you run.

PB can take any data sent back from the client's web form and do just about anything you want with it. The results are formatted back into proper HTML code and presented to the user. These are called CGI applications and they run on the web server, behind the scenes.

I've written a number of CGI tutorials that you should probably read through (easy reading, not real long or detailed). It'll give you a good foundation on how things work in the web world. You can read them at: http://www.basicrocks.com/
    Software makes Hardware Happen

Comment

You might try Jose Roca's site
      http://com.it-berater.org/
      How long is an idea?

Comment

Hi,