Web Access

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Web Access

I would like to write a program to read a named web site, navigate around it, accept data from it and maybe even enter responses.

I have never programmed this sort of application before.

I have looked at the PB samples but they are very full of jargon and I am not even sure what they are trying to do.

I use PBCC

I feel totally confident of manipulating the data once I get access to it.

Is this exercise practical for a programmer of my ability?

Can anyone suggest how I can get started on this course of action please? Please keep the answer simple (if at all possible).

Thank you.
    [I]I made a coding error once - but fortunately I fixed it before anyone noticed[/I]
    Kerry Farmer

Depending on what you mean (in the details) by "navigate around it, accept data from it and maybe even enter responses", I imagine you'd be creating a non-GUI web-browser... ???

If you are able to experiment in PBWIN, search the forum for "minibrowser" code, created and posted by Jose Roca (I think?)

"Is this exercise practical for a programmer of my ability?"

IMHO, I think it's more a question of how determined you are. You build your skills and abilities by trying stuff out and then determining why it didn't work the way you first thought it should!

If it's any consolation to you, I'm nearing completion on a little utility that I started over a year ago. To get it to do everything (OK, most of) what I wanted, I've had to dig into and learn about Windows features and PB etc. I build little standalone experiments, and when I've got that feature working, I add it to the app. Gradually, it has taken shape. It's obviously not a professional's product, but I'm happy with it.