Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can PowerBasic 9 Create ActiveX Controls (.OCX)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can PowerBasic 9 Create ActiveX Controls (.OCX)?

I understand that Powerbasic 9 can create ActiveX (COM) .DLLs, but does anybody know if PowerBasic 9 is capable of creating an ActiveX (.OCX) Control? I have seen several posts on how PowerBasic can use ActiveX Controls, but no references to creating them.

If so, could sombody post sample source code that demonstrates the concept?

Thanks in advance.

far as I know

Yes, as far as I know it can. I've been studying up on it for the past six months, and give me another three months or so and I think I'll have it! There are several folks here who know how to do it actually (Jose, Dominic, etc). There are about fifteen or so interfaces involved that most ActiveX controls implement, and you can go to the MS documentation to learn about them (good luck). Perhaps someone more knowlegable than I can correct me on this, but I don't believe the file extension, i.e., ocx, dll, exe, matters. What matters are the implementations of the interfaces.

In terms of ActiveX exe servers, I believe there is a problem there. You have the situation of having to handle the out of process remote procedure call RPC situation. In C/C++ midl takes care of that, but I don't believe that was implemented in PB9.
    Last edited by Fred Harris; 16 Dec 2008, 11:18 AM.
    Fred
    "fharris"+Chr$(64)+"evenlink"+Chr$(46)+"com"

Comment

Apology for wrong Forum

I apologize in advance for placing this question on the wrong forum. I didn't notice the Programming with Objects forum until after my post...

Comment

Perhaps the forum administrator will want to move it there.

Another thought Wayne. At...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/sxwkda4a.aspx