Useless compiler error

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Useless compiler error

I'm in the process of recompiling a program that I've not worked on for a couple of years as I need to add a couple of features. It was last compiled under PBDLL 6 a few years ago. I just tried to compile it under PLWin 7 and got the following compiler error. When "compile" is selected under the "Run" menu, a message box titled "Compile Error!" pops up which says "Cannot compile basic file C:\.... Incorrect function."

No error number or anything to hint at what it does not like. I've replaced the full path to the file I am compiling with 'C:\....' in the above message. I've been using PB for about 10 years and have never seen anything like this before.
    Michael Burns

Are you sure you are using 8.3 compatible directories and file names for everything?

Comment

I'm compiling under 7.04, not 8.3.
      Michael Burns

Comment

Can't tell if you are being smart alec or don't understand my comment. I am hoping the latter.

I am referring to file/directory structure.

That version still has a 16bit compiler and requires the 8.3 file/directory structure like you used to use in the old 16bit days of DOS and Windows 3.1

Depending you your system setup, your OS may not automatically create backwards compatible directories/files and you may manually have to install/use PB stuff in an 8.3 structure.

Comment

I'm not sure exactly what the fix is, but "Incorrect Function" error is definitely related to paths. I used to get that a lot.

IIRC you get it if you try to compile a file which does not have a three-character extension, eg "myprog.bi" or "myprog.02"

And/or (maybe) it was the a problem if you compile a program using #INCLUDE files with the the same file name but different extensions, eg "myprog.Bas" and "myprog.bi"

I haven't seen this for a long time, but I do recall it was related to file names and paths.

MCM
          Michael Mattias