• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Network collision of a read and a write

Here’s the setup:
    ... A network.
    ... One plaintext file on the server.
    ... One fixed client who can write to that file.
    ... Several clients who can read it.

Because only one client is allowed (enforced by the program) to write to the file, I do not have the program put a write lock on the file when writing.

I do not have it put a read lock on it either.

Question (really ignorant, but I’m not really a programmer):
    ... Is it always safe for a reader client to read the file, including when the writer client is writing to it?

By “safe” I mean that the reader gets the file contents uncorrupted and entire, either what it was before the write or afterwards, it doesn’t matter which.

(At present I’m using VB on this, but presumably the answer for PBWin is the same. Also, eventually I’m converting to PBWin.)
    Politically incorrect signatures about immigration patriots are forbidden. Searching “immigration patriots” is forbidden. Thinking about searching ... well, don’t even think about it.

To answer your specific question, that is can you get the entire contents of the file and you don't care if before or after.... maybe. It's possible you have only written half the file when you read. But other than that, if you don't care about the data, you're OK.

That's not to say this is a good design.

If you'd like a primer on handling shared disk files, you might find this of interest:

"Fundamentals Of Multi-User Programming." Article published in December 1995 issue of "BASICally Speaking" magazine discussing the principles of writing multi-user programs; code samples in BASIC. Rich Text format; placed in the Public Domain June 2005
    http://www.talsystems.com/tsihome_ht...rogramming.rtf
    Michael Mattias
    Tal Systems (retired)
    Port Washington WI USA
    [email protected]
    http://www.talsystems.com

Comment

The writer could write while reader is reading.