Which To Purchase

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which To Purchase

This is my first post here. I've been a member for a while, but never have written anything. I've been writing programs of various types since 1988, and have used quite a few languages and platforms.

Quite a few years ago, more than I want to count, I purchased PB-DOS 3.2. I still have all the materials and media.

I've mostly used Microsoft products as this is what I learned with in college. I used VB6 the most. I have issues with their .Net family. They seem to be "interpreted". What I mean is, every line of code that executes requires a jumping-out to .Net Framework. In simpler terms, the more code you have, the slower an app will run, regardless of efficiency.

Data types also have been an issue for me. Historically, if you wanted to work with very large numbers, the "Double" data type was all you had. There were no large integer types. .Net has UInt64 and ULong, unsigned 64-bit integers. If memory serves, PB has/had a "Quad" type. It was also 64-bit, but signed. Why all the commentary about type sizes? One of my programming hobbies is prime numbers. Sometimes, very large.

Currently, PB has two flavors, console and Windows. Console requires setting aside everyone one knows about form applications and falling back on the DOS Basic style of writing. One thing I like about VB is how the form designer is fully integrated into the coding area. Click on an object in the form view, and the code dialog appears for the object. I do not know if PB Windows does this or not. I never had to learn how to write code to create a form, and am not about to start now.

The bottom line, I am not happy with Microsoft's current offerings and am looking for alternatives. If PB Windows can do the things I have described then I will look at it very hard. A demo would be nice, but I know that is not an option here.

Thank you.