FileWatcher Discussion

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FileWatcher Discussion

Discussion for the FileWatcher class found here.

I found myself running a lot of unit tests recently and the editor I was using to view the results would only load changes when it was focused. Probabbly should have downloaded a tail utility, but thought this would likely come in useful later. It uses the ReadDirectoryChangesW API call to monitor for changes. This is my first attempt at using these API by cobbling together stuff from the documentation and found around the net. Please let me know if you see anything that needs correcting.
    Last edited by Larry Charlton; 25 Jul 2012, 12:08 PM.
    LarryC
    Website
    Sometimes life's a dream, sometimes it's a scream

Hey Larry,
    Thanks for the code. I've been interested in using the API for monitoring file/folder changes but haven't gotten around to doing anything with it.

The simple code below is an example of what I've used to monitor changes to a single file. It's fairly minimal, and uses a simple timer rather than the API you're using, but does the job I want. Can you talk to why, for monitoring a single file, the API would be more beneficial?

I'm more interested in using the API to monitor all file and folder changes, so that I could write an equivalent to the Everything application. Have you done any work with the API on monitoring any and all file/folder changes? Eventually I'll find time to look into it, so what you are doing is appreciated!

Code:
    'Compilable Example:
    #Compiler PBWin 10
    #Compile Exe
    #Dim All
    %Unicode = 1
    #Include "Win32API.inc"
    %IDC_TextBox = 500
    %ID_Timer    = 501
    Global hDlg As Dword

Function PBMain() As Long
       Dialog New Pixels, 0, "PowerBASIC",300,300,200,80, %WS_OverlappedWindow To hDlg
       Control Add TextBox, hDlg, %IDC_TextBox,"c:\_test\x.bas", 10,10,180,20
       Dialog Show Modal hDlg Call DlgProc
    End Function