Cloud Apps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cloud Apps

I've done Perl server-based scripts before so I have some experience in creating a web app - where PSP/JavaScript/HTML5 come into play for providing the user interface within a browser and where the Perl script runs in the background on the server.

As best I know, trying to create a web app from something like gbSnippets would mean a major rewrite - creating the interface from other languages and using PowerBASIC for the shovel work on a Windows server.

Is that about right?

Yes

Comment

Garry, are you saying you have never done a PowerBasic CGI type program? Or am I misunderstanding your question. Happy to help "jump start" you if you need help.

Comment

What do you mean by a "web app" ?

Isn't this what you are talking about?
        http://www.garybeene.com/power/code/

Comment

Or do you mean creating a full blow application which lets the user store and search their own information (like gbSnippets). If so, where would their data be stored (and who will pay for that storage)? I wouldn't see a need for PB at all in that situation, just a BE database and a FE developed in something like PHP.

Comment

As an aside, I just looked at the source behind your .../power/code page.
            The use of DIV, margins, UL and LI tags would save thousands of NBSPs

Comment

Howdy, David!

Nope - I've never done a PowerBASIC CGI type program. I don't have a for sure need at this time. I was just checking into the topic to make sure I had the gist of it correct. When I have a more specific need I will raise my hand. Thanks for the offer!

Howdy, Stuart!