SQL, Access and Blobs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SQL, Access and Blobs

Well, I did not want to be rude and hijack another related thread so I'll present my own problem.

Bear in mind that I am relatively new to SQL Tools but have been able to make it do what I need to it to do (although I do know I'm handling indexes incorrectly, so expect another question here in the future... just a warning.)

The requirement is to work in an Access database. My table "products" has a field called "fullFeaturesLists" which can contain a lot of text. The possibility does exist to exceed 64k in length and the possibility of UNICODE in the future.

I have no difficulty working with regular text and numeric fields, retrieving data via sql_resultColumnString() and sql_resultColumnNumeric().

I have working on this for over a week and am stuck. Here is the version where I stand, where I feel that I'm closest to the solution:

The field fullFeaturesLists in Access lists the field type as "OLE".

The SQL Dump returns:
    Code:
    Products Column 42:
            TBLCOL_COLUMN_NAME         ProductsfullFeaturesList
            TBLCOL_DATA_TYPE           -4
            TBLCOL_TYPE_NAME           LONGBINARY
            TBLCOL_CATALOG_NAME        I:\Projects\ccPPdb\ccPPdb2019a\db\testDatabase
            TBLCOL_SCHEMA_NAME         <empty>
            TBLCOL_TABLE_NAME          Products
            TBLCOL_DISPLAY_SIZE        1073741823
            TBLCOL_BUFFER_LENGTH       1073741823
            TBLCOL_DECIMAL_DIGITS      <empty>
            TBLCOL_NUM_PREC_RADIX      <empty>
            TBLCOL_NULLABLE            1
            TBLCOL_REMARKS             <empty>
            TBLCOL_DEFAULT_VALUE       <empty>
            TBLCOL_SQL_DATA_TYPE       -4
            TBLCOL_DATETIME_SUB        <empty>
            TBLCOL_CHAR_OCTET_LENGTH   1073741823
            TBLCOL_ORDINAL_POSITION    42
            TBLCOL_IS_NULLABLE         YES